Types of Airworthiness Certificates

The Two Types of Airworthiness Certificates You’ll Need to Know About

When it comes to proving to the Federal Aviation Administration that a given aircraft is safe to operate, there are two types of airworthiness certificates. Here, you can learn more about these.

Federal Aviation Administration’s Types of Airworthiness Certificates

When it comes to maintaining safe flying conditions and efficient aircraft designs, the Federal Aviation Administration has established well-established aircraft certification processes. These procedures have different components, some of which will be up to the FAA and some of which will be up to you as the owner.

  1. First, the Federal Aviation Administration will review proposed designs, as well as the methods that will be used to prove that the designs and the overall airplane complies with the FAA’s standards.
  2. Then, they will conduct certain ground and flight tests that aim to demonstrate that the aircraft does meet the Federal Aviation Administration’s standards.
  3. Having tested the airplane, the FAA will evaluate the aircraft to determine what the required maintenance and operational suitability will be in order to introduce the aircraft into service.
  4. Finally, the Federal Aviation Administration will work with other civil aviation authorities on their approval of the aircraft based on the work that was already done by the FAA throughout the rest of the process.

Standard Certificate

It’s important to know that there are two different types of airworthiness certificates granted by the Federal Aviation Administration. The differences between them are determined by the kind of aircraft that will receive them and what exactly their purpose will be. A standard aircraft airworthiness certificate is the Federal Aviation Administration’s official authorization that allows for the operation of aircraft in one of the following categories:

  • Normal
  • Utility
  • Acrobatic
  • Commuter
  • Transport
  • Manned free balloons
  • Special classes

Special Certificate

As mentioned earlier there are two types of airworthiness certificates. The second kind will be the special aircraft airworthiness certificate. This one will apply for aircraft that belong in one or more of the following categories:

  • Primary (recreation and pleasure)
  • Restricted (Agricultural, Forest and wildlife conservation, Aerial surveying, Patrolling pipelines and power lines, Weather control, Aerial advertising, Other operations specified by the Administrator)
  • Multiple certificates
  • Limited
  • Light sport
  • Experimental (Research and development, Showing compliance with regulations, Crew training, Exhibition, Air racing, Market surveys, Operating amateur-built aircraft, Operating kit-built aircraft, Operating light-sport aircraft, Unmanned Aircraft Systems)
  • Special flight permits
  • Provisional

Types of Airworthiness Certificates
Process Your Certificates

Not a lot of stuff is more tedious than administrative paperwork, and as exciting as owning an aircraft is, the required documentation is no exception. Because of this, we at the National Aviation Center are well aware of this fact, which is why we’ve made sure to make it all easier for you. Here on our website you’ll be able to find everything you need when it comes to filing your paperwork with the Federal Aviation Administration, be it for initial registration, renewal, or reinstatement. And, regardless of what it is you need help with, be sure to reach out to our team with your doubts and questions and we’ll make sure to answer them.